Sign up to Ian's Newsletter. Free ebook, A Shadow on the Glass.    


The long-awaited sequel to the international epic fantasy bestseller – The View from the Mirror quartet


“This is fantasy as it should be. Irvine’s vision is sweeping and majestic, his characters complex and detailed. Any reader of fantasy should read this novel and then get their hands on everything else he has written.” 5 stars. Good Reading magazine on Book 1, The Summon Stone.

Book 2. The Fatal Gate

June  2017

The cruel Merdrun, the greatest warriors in the void, have invaded Santhenar – but their portal failed, leaving them stranded. They’re desperately trying to regain contact with the summon stone so they can reopen the portal and begin the slaughter of humanity.

Llian, hurled through another portal, sees the summon stone wake and knows the allies have but one chance to destroy the Merdrun. It will involve an alchemical quest which has always ended in ruin, a mad invasion in untested sky ships with untrained pilots, and the most impossible battle in all the Histories.

Book 1. The Summon Stone

May  2016

TSS Final cover

Kill the red-haired child!

The Merdrun, a cruel race embittered by an ancient betrayal and blooded by thousands of years of war, are gathering on Cinnabar, a barren worldlet in the void.

On Santhenar their long-hidden summon stone is waking, corrupting good people as well as bad, and turning arcane places into magically polluted wastelands. If it is not destroyed it will gather enough power to create a portal and call the Merdrun through.

In a nightmare, a nine-year-old girl, Sulien, sees the Merdrun leader, Gergrig – and he sees her. Gergrig orders Sulien killed and brings the invasion forward, to the night of the triple moons.

If Karan and Llian are to save their daughter and their world, Karan must find a way to stop Gergrig, the greatest warrior in the void. Llian has to destroy the summon stone before the night of the triple moons, though he has no idea where it is.

But soon the summon stone will call the Merdrun through and only four flawed people stand in their way:

  • Karan, now hunted relentlessly by a former friend.
  • Llian, framed for murder and forced to betray an ally’s darkest secret.
  • Wilm, a feckless youth who doesn’t yet know anything; and
  • Aviel, a crippled seventh sister – and the unluckiest girl in all the world.


“Few fantasy authors can build a world with as much care and attention as Irvine, and it is a real pleasure to return to his masterful creation.’ 4 stars. The Big Issue.

‘Very few fantasy settings can equal the depth and texture of the Three Worlds. And the climax of the book is absolutely spectacular.” 8/10.


I recently wrote the Curse of the Summonstone Adventure Theme for, a great new tool for fantasy roleplaying, worldbuilding, and map making. Check it out at

Readers’ Reviews

Amanda K

Finished The Summon Stone last night and it has been worth the wait! Absolutely loved it! Please don’t make us wait too long for the next one though! Will start re-reading tonightkeep up your awesome work Ian!

Thomas A

It was a fantastic read. I couldn’t put it down, I doubt anyone else who has read your work is different.

More reviews

Read first 2 chapters.

Buy links for THE SUMMON STONE – Print

Australia/NZ UK/Europe US/Can/Rest of World
Booktopia Amazon Amazon
Angus & Robertson Waterstones Barnes & Noble
QBD Find local shop Booksamillion
Readings Indiebound
 Find local bookshop  Indigo

 Buy links for THE SUMMON STONE – Ebook

Australia/NZ UK/Europe US/Can/Rest of World
iTunes Amazon
Kobo iTunes iTunes
GooglePlay Waterstones Kobo
Amazon GooglePlay GooglePlay
 Booktopia Kobo